The origins of Forlimpopoli date back to the work of the Roman consul Popilio Lenate (year 132 BC, approximately). 
The strategic location, along a favourable trades path (the ancient Via Aemilia), contributed to its rapid development. Since the imperial period, the production of wine amphoraes, as attested by numerous archaeological finds preserved in the local Archaeological Museum, was particularly active.
Razed to the ground in 1361 by Cardinal Albornoz, and then immediately rebuilt, Forlimpopoli was the protagonist of centre of Italy historical events in the Middle Ages, the same imposing fortress is a witness of it.
The town still maintains a strong vocation for trade and commerce, also launching a project of economic and cultural development under the name of its most famous citizen, Pellegrino Artusi, recognized as the father of Italian cuisine and author of "Science in the Kitchen and the Art of eating well”. The project’s aim is to transform Forlimpopoli in a gastronomic centre of national importance.
  • Town Hall of Forlimpopoli: Piazza Fratti, 2 tel. 0543 749111, fax 0543 749247
  • Tourist Information Office UIT: Via A. Costa, 23, tel. 0543 749250
  • Camper equipped area: Via del Tulipano (Palazzo dello Sport parking, west of the Via Emilia)
  • Medieval fortress (2nd half of the fourteenth century), one of the best preserved in Romagna, with a rectangular shape with four circular towers and beautiful walkways
  • Archaeological Museum: set in the charming basements of the fortress, it preserves important testimonies of the underground: the magnificent mosaics, sculptures, bronze and glass artefacts; of Roman period, it is one of the most important museums of  Emilia-Romagna
  • The Church of the Servants, with a distinctive tower (inside the “Annunciation” by Palmezzano), the Church of St. Rufillo and the Sanctuary of  Madonna del Popolo

P.zza Fratti 2 -  47034 Forlimpopoli

0543/749111  - 0543/749247