SAVIGNANO SUL RUBICONE
The town is famous for the centuries-old controversy – still in progress – regards its identification with the Rubicone
In this area, in fact, in the year 49. C. Julius Caesar
crossed the river citing the legendary sentence "Alea jacta est
" ("The die is cast
"). The area was inhabited since the Roman period, however the first historical checked reports date back to 1150.
Flourishing centre of cultural activities, as evidenced by the name "Athens of Romagna
boasts a large group of scholars, writers and archaeologists and it still houses the Academy of Filopatridi
, one of the oldest and most prestigious academies of studies of Romagna
Town Hall: Piazza Borghesi, 9 - tel. 0541 809611 tel. 0541 941052
PLACES TO SEE
- Consular Bridge over the Rubicone River: rebuilt after the war of 1944, it recalls the ancient one built in the 2nd century BC by Marco Emilio Lepido
- Library and Academy of Filopatridi: over 60,000 books, manuscripts, incunabulums
- Collegiate Church of St. Lucia: built in 1730, it preserves a marble statue depicting St. Lucia, patron saint of the town
- Ribano Castle (XI century): on the road Savignano - Sogliano, surrounded by vineyards, which today houses the Spalletti winery. The road, famous Nove Colli for cycling, continues for Borghi and Sogliano, with charming views between sea and Apennines.